Bangor Bird Group

The Bird Group, which has links with Bangor University, was set up 70 years ago. It arranges a series of weekly talks over the autumn and spring terms (October – March) with a wide range of speakers and topics. These are held on Wednesday evenings (except where indicated) in Room 101, Alun Building, Bangor University Management Centre, College Road, Bangor and start at 7.30 pm prompt (no access to building after this time). Non members £4 per meeting.

Location map for Bangor and Club meetings can be found here.

Autumn 2019 – Spring 2020 programme

9th October 2019. The Birds of Anglesey and Student Introduction (all welcome), Stephen Culley.

16th October. Sketching Wildlife – Home and Abroad, Philip Snow.

23rd October. (Wildlife Trust Talk) The Celtic Rainforests,  Brian Palmer.

30th October.  From Cemlyn to Antactica then Iceland, Tim Morley.

6th November. The State of the Birds in Wales, Julian Hughes (RSPB).

13th November. From Middle Mouse to Muckle Flagga – a journey between islands, nature and conservation, John Harold.

20th November. SCAN ringing: after the big bang, Rachel Taylor, (BTO).

27th November. (Wildlife Trust talk) Bees with Backpacks – tracking bees, Dr Paul Cross.

4th December. Birding Tibet, Dan Brown.

Thursday 5th December. Birding the sub-Antarctic Islands, Dan Brown.

11th December. Uganda, Alan Davies & Ruth Miller.

18th December. Christmas Party and quiz.

8th January 2020. Borneo, Nigek Brown.

15th January. Cape May Bird Observatory, Rhys Jones.

22nd January. Marine topic, Dawn Thomas.

29th January. Frampton Marsh RSPB Reserve, Toby Carter.

5th February. The Gambia, Holly Page.

12th February. Cors Ddyg: evolution of the reserve, Ian Hawkins, RSPB.

19th February. Choughs, Tony Cross & Adrienne Stratford.

26th February. Snowdonia Society, Dan Goodwin.

4th March. Australia, Colin Davies.

11th March. Azerbaijan and Algeria, Josh Jones.

18th March. My family and other animals: Birding Balearica, Stephen Culley, local birder.

Membership is open to all and costs:
Waged £18
Concessions £15
Bangor University Students – free
Non-members – £4 per meeting

The Committee
Gareth Howells – President
Nigel Brown – Chair
Henry Cook – Deputy Chair                                                                                  Ian Wright –  Treasurer & Membership Secretary
Steve Culley – Programme Organiser
Toby Carter – Student Rep /  Committee
Honorary Members                                                                                               Dr Richard Arnold                                                                                               Nigel Brown                                                                                                           Jim Clark                                                                                                             Enid Griffiths

For further information, email

Scroll to Top