The Derek Moore
Student Research

This award recognises and promotes the contribution made to Welsh ornithology by undergraduate and masters level students researching birds in Wales. It is given in memory of Derek Moore, a conservation champion and former chairman of WOS.

Who qualifies? Any full- or part-time undergraduate or masters student who writes a dissertation based on a study of birds in Wales. The entrant must have completed the field work for their dissertation in Wales and must be available to accept the award in person and present a poster on their dissertation at the WOS annual conference. Dissertations completed in the current or previous calendar year can be submitted.

Who can nominate? Either the student undertaking the work or their tutor (with the student’s agreement).

How is it judged? WOS Council will select the study that they consider to be the best in furthering the knowledge and conservation of birds in Wales.

What do they win? A cheque for £200 and an invitation to make a short presentation at the WOS Annual Conference, and to submit a paper, based on their dissertation, for publication in the WOS journal, Birds in Wales.

How do I enter? The application form and guidance notes are available here for download.

When can I enter?  Applications for the 2019 award have now closed. Four applications were received and the winner will be announced at the Annual Conference on 16th November. Applications for the 2020 award will open in July 2020.

Who has received a Student Research Award? 

> 2018 – Joe d’Souza for a research study on the incidence of plastics pollution affecting urban Dippers in South Wales.

> 2017 – Libby Brooks (Cardiff University), for a study on habitat dynamics impacting on Pied Flycatcher breeding.

› 2016 – Cathryn Tyrrell (Cardiff University), for a DNA study of the diet of birds.
› 2015 – Emma-Louise Cole (Swansea University), for a study of the breeding biology of Honey-buzzards in South Wales.
› 2013 – Stacey Melia (Aberystwyth University), for a study of the diet of Ospreys nesting on the Dyfi estuary.
› 2014 – Faith Jones (Bangor University), for a spatial analysis of Oystercatchers on Traeth Lafan SPA.

Scroll to Top